On Funks and Humanness

I’ve been in a funk for days now. One of those unjustified funks. You know the type, where you can’t really name what it is that has you so irritable? Sure, a good guess would be that I’m not setting my heart on the things above and I am getting bogged down in world (past, present and future). This malaise has had me unwilling to “press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me” (Philippians 3). This uneasiness has me stuck in place. And the place ain’t pretty.

The recent celebration of Easter should have given me heightened awareness of the power of his resurrection. That power gave us our own resurrection. Right?  (Eternal life and abundant life, here and now).  That power has even given us the ability to participate in his sufferings without losing hope.  Resurrection life is not one of the products of funks.  Hope is not one of the products of funks. Nor is thankfulness.

I’ve got a boat load full of things to be thankful for in my present circumstances. Those things are not getting the attention I’m giving my worries. Whether I name my mood a funk or a malaise or unease or irritability, it’s interesting how something so paralyzing can light a fire to worry.

As I catch myself worrying, I’m fully aware that there have been times in the not too distant past, where I thought I had a handle on worry. Every little saying and every verse from scripture on worrying made perfect sense to me! I confidently thought that I knew the bottom line: worrying is useless. Well, woe to me whenever I think I’ve got a handle on something!

Pressing on to take hold of that for which Christ took hold of me takes holding onto nothing but Jesus. Allowing myself to be stuck in this funk has been a choice to not take hold of Jesus. It has felt like emotional paralysis, but the truth of Easter is Jesus made me a participant in His resurrection. His resurrection is my resurrection. There is no paralysis in that truth.

So, I haven’t been fully living in the truth. I’ve been kicking around in gutters and behaving like I don’t have the legs to step up to the sidewalk and move on.

I do have those figurative legs. But when I go too long without opening my Bible or get sloppy with my prayers, those legs get weak. It’s really no surprise that I let time go by without doing something I know benefits me. As much as I love going for walks I often don’t take the time to go. No rationale. Just human.

I think I’ll sit with those last two words for a moment. There’s grace in those words — just human. So, I’ve been in a funk for days now. It’s passing. I’m human. And this human has hope. This human has Jesus.  This human has resurrection power.

Hebrews 2:17-18  For this reason he had to be made like them, fully human in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people.  Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.

Leave a Reply

