The Wisdom of Scarlett

I believe Scarlett was speaking some truth when she declared, “After all, tomorrow is another day!”.  I wish I’d remember that when I’m letting stress rule a day…or morning, or afternoon, or hour, or minute.  I’ve always thought that declaration by Scarlett was yet another exhibit of her vacuous, self absorbed, state of denial.  Today I’m embracing it’s hopeful qualities.

I don’t want “after all, tomorrow is another day” as a thought that allows me to give up on the current day or moment.  I don’t want to follow Scarlett’s avoidance of feelings of guilt, repentance or self reflection.  I do want Scarlett’s optimism and ability to survive. And I want the thought “tomorrow is another day” to give me the clarity that this stressful moment is going to pass and it may not account for much once it has passed.

Well, a stressful moment could account for much!  It could account as a time when I grow that much stronger in listening to the Holy Spirit rather than my own insecurities.  It could account as a time when I recognize lies being whispered (or screamed) at me.  It could be a time when I choose to ask Jesus to help me rightly interpret the fear I’m feeling in a situation.  It could be a time when I participate in bringing the light filled kingdom of God into a dark day.  It could be a time when I choose to be gracious rather than snippy.  It could be a reminder that joy and life can have the final say over circumstances of suffering, sadness or discouragement.

Tomorrow is another day.  And God’s mercies are new every morning.  But what about this day?  Even if it sets itself up to be stressful, I think I’ll make something good out of it by inviting Jesus into every bit of it.  He’s the One who breaks down insecurities, speaks truth, gives peace rather than fear, uses me to be light in a dark world, fills me with joy and offers life.

Psalm 70:4  But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who long for your saving help always say, “The Lord is great!”

Leave a Reply

