Return of the Roman Colosseum

It’s frightening.  A man, at a podium, being cheered for as he expresses his desire to punch a protestor in the face. Watching those crowds of gleefully mean-spirited Americans grieves me.  Yes, I know there are multitudes of kind, generous, rational Americans.  But I’m sure there were a lot of good hearted people in Rome, Germany, Russia, Uganda, and Italy when a hate filled barbarian became their leader.

When Trump first began rising in popularity I began to fear having him as a leader.  Now, I find I fear fellow citizens.  How, can there be so many who would delight in what God hates?

Proverbs 16:18  Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall.

Proverbs 8:13  To fear the Lord is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech.

Proverbs 11:2  When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.

Proverbs 14:3  A fool’s mouth lashes out with pride, but the lips of the wise protect them.

Proverbs 6:16-19  There are six things the Lord hates, seven that are detestable to him:  haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, a false witness who pours out lies and a person who stirs up conflict in the community.

Now, you may read Proverbs 6 and think that describes a number of our most popular leaders.  I believe you’d be right!  They just hide their true colors.  However, I used to believe a wolf in sheep’s clothing was more dangerous than a wolf in plain sight.  I no longer believe that, because many Americans are feeding the wolf and joining his pack in broad daylight.  Many are admiring his base nature.

It’s not just pride we’re witness to.  In my opening example I witnessed disrespect and vulgarity.  So much for “love your enemy”.

The Word of God also tells us that fear is not from the Lord.  I need to take that to heart and not fear what I’m witnessing.  What then?  Anger?  Probably not productive.  Action.  Better.  Jesus, guide me to what action I can take.  The risk to me now is minimal.  If we wait, the risk to us as citizens may be much greater.  History testifies to what happens when good people do nothing.

Leave a Reply

