The Riches of my Residence

As we drove from the Dulles Airport to the condo we would now be living in, my husband said, “Well, we’re Virginians now.”  “Are we”, I asked?  “Or are we Californians living in Virginia?  And…when do you think we’ll call this home?”

A couple days later after running multiple errands my husband asked, “Where next?”  I replied, “Let’s go home”.  I instantly felt like a traitor!

This morning we visited a church; the first in the daunting exercise called the hunt for a new church home.  The pastor preached on Ephesians 1.  Practically the first words out of his mouth were that our truest residence is in the heavenly places!  (Guess I should have included the Holy Spirit in our conversation on citizenship).  “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who had blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him.”  Eph. 1:3-4

I’ve been wondering “when”.  When will this feel like home?  When will I stop being a Californian?  When will Community Christian Church of Moorpark in California not be “my” church?  And likewise my perspective spiritually, has been as if the “heavenly places” are my future home.  But the truth is I’ve already been given every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places.  Before this world of Californians and Virginians was even created God planned to give me everything.  Before I was born Jesus secured/made possible my adoption into the riches of his love and the Holy Spirit was applied as the downpayment for my glorious present.  The heavenly places are here and now.

When Paul was writing about all of us who have faith in Jesus having every spiritual blessing he was in prison!  Yet he knew he was already a free person because he understood the spiritual realities of his heavenly residence.  He also knew our struggle/fight here on earth is from a place of victory, not a fight for victory.

I need not wrestle with what to call myself in the different places or circumstances I find myself in.  I’ve already been named.  Daughter of God the Father; redeemed and forgiven through Jesus Christ according the the riches of his grace; given the Holy Spirit as the downpayment as I am transformed by his grace – so that I can enjoy the benefits of the riches of my residence.

 

 

Leave a Reply

