Performing My Vows Day after Day

Once again, I find myself confused by the timing of an event in my life.  If it doesn’t make complete sense does that mean it is a poor choice?  Not of God?  Or, is this an opportunity to trust God in it and lean not unto my own understanding?  No simple answer here.

I find it helpful to weigh the odd timing with the many ways the Holy Spirit has spoken yes into this event.  My husband and I are moving. Across the country. For the first time in our lives.  The questionable timing?  My parents are in their 80s and live here.  And we’ve built community here.

But what else is true?  God has provided a job for my husband through many years of uncertainty at his company.  Our daughters are into adulthood.  My husband is about to be 60 years old.  Not an optimum time to be looking for work.   His office is closing down and he’s been given another position within the same company.  Truth about God – he provides.

How else has God spoken yes to me?

He speaks through my longings and discontentment. I’ve been longing for a call to serve Jesus in new ways. Feeling stagnant and restless.  Wanting the unknown – begging for something different.  And even becoming aware of the disconnect in suburbia and the benefits of city living.  (I’m moving from a suburb to a city).

He speaks through the location where he’s sending us.  The very town I visited two decades ago and flippantly observed, “wouldn’t it be fun to live here after my kids have grown?”.  And now, an added attraction: my brother lives just a fifteen minute drive from this town that caught my imaginations.

He’s been speaking in what he has be teaching me for a few years.  He’s been teaching me to apply the work and triumph of the authority of Jesus over my domain (wherever it is).  His work provides forgiveness and death to sin; His work provides a life of faith to love and hope, and an ability to receive and give joy in all circumstances; His work provides wisdom, power and strength for the battles here on earth.  His work has given me the ability to say yes to the unknown.

He’s reminded me my greatest vows are to him.  He’s been pouring concrete around my conviction that my purpose and life is in my union with him.  My place is in his tent.  He’s enabled me to say yes to his plans.

Psalm 61 – “Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint.  Lead me to the rock that is higher than I, for you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy.  Let me dwell in your tent forever!  Let me take refuge under the shelter of your wings!  For you, O God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name…So will I ever sing praises to your name, as I perform my vows day after day.”

Leave a Reply

