Clutter, Clutter, Everywhere

I learned something new about myself over the last few weeks.  I’m a pack rat.  How’d I miss that piece of self awareness before?  I was enabled; that’s how!  Twenty-four years ago my husband and I bought a 3 bedroom house with closets and a garage.  That was the beginning of being lulled into believing in the out-of-site, out-of-mind way of life.

And I’ve been such a hypocrite on top of it all!  I scowl at my husband for the ubiquitous pile of paperwork on our desk.  I lament that he has yet to go through chests and boxes that had belonged to his father.  I’ve entertained smug thoughts about how I couldn’t live in clutter.  All the while I’ve been shoving my clutter into closets, drawers, baskets, boxes and my garage.

And now is my day of reckoning.  We are moving to a 2 bedroom condo.  No den.  No garage.  No staircase with a “Harry Potter” closet hidden underneath.  A limited number of drawers.  No storage space to shove my undated greeting cards, jeans that are 2 sizes to small, workbooks from 14 past Bible studies, notes from 5 past retreats, framed photos (just how much money have I spent on frames over the years?), books that I fool myself into thinking I’ll read again some day, outdated AAA travel books, brochures from vacation spots, seasonal decorations, costume jewelry that I never wear, eye shadows and nail polishes that can’t possibly be good anymore, electric curlers that I used twice, shoes that hurt to wear, empty boxes that held electronics we no longer own, knick-knacks, paddy-whack, give the dog a bone!

I’m ready to embrace the new scaled-down life that awaits me. Apparently living a life of simplicity is all the rage.  You can even google “simplicity quotes”.  I spent time I could have spent cleaning out my closets, looking up these quotes!

Here’s a deep one:  “The cost of a thing is the amount of life which is required to be exchanged for it.” – Henry David Thoreau

“The greatest step towards a life of simplicity is to learn to let go.” – Steve Maraboli.  Preach it Steve (whoever you are).

“Unnecessary possessions are unnecessary burdens. If you have them, you have to take care of them!” – Peace Pilgrim.  (Or shove them in a closet, I might add).

“The more you have, the more you are occupied.  The less you have, the more free you are.” – Mother Teresa.  Well, I’m not going to argue with Mother Teresa!

In the past I would have written these quotes on index cards.  But, while going through my clutter I’ve found a bunch of index cards with quotes on them.  Man this decluttering my life thing is gonna’ be harder than I thought.

Leave a Reply

