If it were a snake it would have bit you!

I’m finding the menopausal years kind of creepy. Now hang in there younger readers my story will have some aspects you can relate to.

I’m increasingly looking for items that are right in front of my face. Today I set the remote control on a paper to hold it from being blown away by the fan that is running in our family room. A short time later, could have been 10 minutes, could have been 2 minutes, I’m not sure, I was moving our entertainment center to see if the noise I heard when I was dusting earlier was the remote control falling behind the TV. Nope, it wasn’t there. As I was pushing it back I glanced at our coffee table where I saw the remote control on top of a paper. Scary.

Sometimes when I’m trying to remember something I picture little filing cabinets in my head flying open and the contents being thrown up into the air by some unseen force.

Ultimately, I find the remote control, or the ingredients for dinner that are already out on the counter, or my glasses that are on my head and I go on with my task, albeit, a bit more irritable. But it got me to thinking, what other snakes are right in front of me ready to bite?

I am on a number of email lists. It seems like any store I’ve ever shopped at sends me daily emails. I know I can just unsubscribe and end the madness but…what if I miss the deal of the century? Or, what if when I truly do need to buy something, I don’t receive the coupon of that day? Man, those stores know what they’re doing, don’t they?

In the past I wasn’t tempted to buy something I didn’t know I needed until I walked in a store. Now I have a daily snake of temptation greeting me when I open my email. When I recognize the snake I quickly hit the delete key on each email with a store or website name. But then there are the days where I open the email and start perusing the website of said store. Danger! Danger!

These email coupons fall under the dilemma of 1 Corinthians 6:12 “’All things are lawful for me’-but not everything is beneficial. ‘All things are lawful for me’-but I will not be controlled by anything.” Not everything that is good is good for me as an individual. Saving on my purchases, making the most of my money is a good, responsible goal. Fear of not saving when I could have saved is not good for me. It’s turning a good thing into an idol. Actually, it’s allowing myself to be a slave to “the deal”.

“For all who are led by the Spirit of God are the sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of slavery leading again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption, by whom we cry, ‘Abba, Father.’” Romans 8:14-15

Thanks Abba, Father!  You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

